2015 Reading List

I posted on a “call for submissions” of sorts on my Facebook the other day, looking for reading suggestions from my friends. I’ve looked through all of their suggestions, as well as the suggestions of other folks (Christena Cleveland and Cambridge University Faculty of Divinity to name but two.) Below is my list of primary reads for 2015.

Friends of mine who made suggestions will find that only a small portion of the suggested books made the final list. Don’t be discouraged. Each and every one of the recommendations looked enticing and I appreciate the suggestions. I’ve included the books which I think will be directly beneficial to my life given my current context (life in community, Anglican theology, religious organizing, justice advocacy, contemplative life, nuns, etc.)

My reading pattern is usually erratic. I’ll go through periods of rapid reading and then another period of some aridity. I also know that I’ll find other books in the course of the year and probably reread these or others from previous years. Who knows, I’ll probably also dip into the secondary and tertiary lists compiled from suggestions.

If you’ve read some of these books, please let me know what you thought in the comments section! Also, if you’ve got other books to add to the list, please let me know!

Wishing you abundance,
Cody

 

Making Neighborhoods Whole: A Handbook for Christian Community Development by Wayne Gordon & John M. Perkins

Jesus for Revolutionaries: An Introduction to Race, Social Justice and Christianity by Robert Chao Romero

Occupy Religion: Theology of the Multitude by Joerg Rieger and Kwok Pui-lan

To Live In Peace: Biblical Faith and the Changing Inner City  by Mark. R. Gornik

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

Binding The Strong Man: A Political Reading of Mark’s Story of Jesus by Chad Myers

Tattoos on the Heart: The Power of Boundless Compassion by Gregory Boyle, SJ

The Orenda by Joseph Boyden

Wake by Anna Hope

The Prison Angel: Mother Antonia’s Life of Service in a Mexican Jail by Mary Jordan and Kevin Sullivan

Everything Belongs: The Gift of Contemplative Prayer by Richard Rohr, O.F.M.

Colonize This! : Young Women of Color on Today’s Feminism edited by Daisy Hernandez and Bushra Rehman

Leading From Within: Poetry That Sustains the Courage to Lead edited by Sam M. Intrator and Megan Scribner

The Agile Church: Spirit-Led Innovation in an Uncertain Age by Dwight J. Zscheile

God, Sexuality, and the Self: An Essay ‘On the Trinity’ by Sarah Coakley

Post-Colonializing God: An African Practical Theology by Emmanuel Y. Lartey

Quest for the Living God by Elizabeth A. Johnson, CSJ

2 thoughts on “2015 Reading List

  1. I’ve read Quiet, Tatoos on the Heart, Everything Belongs and Quest for the Livinh God.Tatoos was/is my favorite. However, you cannot go wrong with Richard Rohr or Elizabeth Johnson either.Quiet gave me a lot of insight and freedom about myself.Now I will start some of the others on your list.Looking forward to your thoughts on these books once you’ve completed them.

Leave a Reply

